Skip to main content

Gatorade National Basketball Player of the Year RJ Barrett will be in Hollywood for the 16th annual Gatorade High School Athlete of the Year ceremony, prior to the 2018 ESPY Awards!

The Montverde Academy star and Duke commit will face off against the top prep athletes in America as a nominee for the 2017-18 Gatorade Male High School Athlete of the Year award. In its 16th year, the Gatorade Male and Female Athlete of the Year award has become the most prestigious honor in high school sports.

The winners will be named at a dinner emceed by ESPN SportsCenter Host Sage Steele on Tuesday, July 17, in Hollywood. NBA All-Star Karl-Anthony Towns, No. 3 2018 NFL Draft pick Sam Darnold, NFL Offensive Player of the year Todd Gurley and two-time Olympic gold medalist Abby Wambach are among the pro athletes who will be attending the 16th annual Gatorade Athlete of the Year awards.

Since 1985, Gatorade has recognized state and national Players of the Year in 12 sports (six male, six female). In addition to athletic performance, Gatorade Players of the Year must excel in the classroom and demonstrate strong character. Winners are selected by a panel of nationwide sportswriters and commentators.

[x_video_embed] [/x_video_embed]

Some facts about R.J.:

Athletic résumé:

  • The 6-foot-7, 200-pound senior guard led the Eagles to a 35-0 record including a 2018 GEICO Nationals championship victory.
  • Barrett has averaged 28.5 points, 8.6 rebounds, 4.4 assists and 1.3 steals a game for the Eagles
  • A McDonald’s All-American, Naismith Trophy winner and the No. 1 prospect in the country according to the ESPN 100, Barrett starred last summer for Canada’s U19 team and led that squad to its first FIBA World Championship medal.

Academic résumé:

  • Barrett maintained a 3.21 GPA in the classroom.
  • Community service/extracurricular activity résumé to look at more info:
  • Barrett has volunteered locally with the Montverde Lower School Basketball Buddies program, the St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital and on behalf of the South Lake Church of Christ in Clermont, Fla.

Other nominees include:


Thayer Hall Volleyball Dorman High School (Roebuck, S.C.)
Katelyn Tuohy* Cross Country North Rockland High School (Thiells, N.Y.)
Christyn Williams Basketball Arkansas Christian High School (North Little Rock, Ark.)
Megan Faraimo Softball Cathedral Catholic High School (San Diego, Calif)
Isabella D’Aquila Girls Soccer JSerra Catholic High School (San Juan Capistrano, Calif.)
Katelyn Tuohy* Track & Field North Rockland High School (Thiells, N.Y.)
JT Daniels Football Mater Dei High School (Santa Ana, Calif.)
Aidan Troutner Cross Country Timpview High School (Provo, Utah)
R.J. Barrett Basketball Montverde Academy (Montverde, Fla.)
Ryan Weathers Baseball Loretto High School (Loretto, Tenn.)
Ousseni Bouda Boys Soccer Millbrook School (Millbrook, N.Y.)
Anthony Schwartz Track & Field American Heritage School (Plantation, Fla.)
%d bloggers like this: