Skip to main content

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke sophomore Tre Jones and freshman Vernon Carey Jr., have been named the recipients of the 2020 Swett-Baylin Most Valuable Player Award, as the Duke men’s basketball program announced its annual awards. The awards are traditionally handed out at the team’s annual postseason banquet, which was canceled this season.

The pair of Jones and Carey were highly-decorated as Jones was named both the ACC Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year and earned multiple All-America honors, while Carey was honored as the USBWA National Freshman of the Year, the ACC Freshman of the Year and a consensus second-team All-America pick.

Carey is the ninth freshmen to receive at least a share of team MVP honors under head coach Mike Krzyzewski, joining Johnny Dawkins (1983), Jabari Parker (2014), Jahlil Okafor (2015), Brandon Ingram (2016), Jayson Tatum (2017), Marvin Bagley III (2018) and RJ Barrett and Zion Williamson last season. A freshman has won or shared the trophy in seven consecutive seasons.

Jones also earned the Iron Duke Award, presented to the Blue Devil that logged the most minutes in 2019-20 (1,028), with Carey also earning the awards for both the highest rebounding average (8.8) and the team’s best field goal percentage (.577).

Graduate student Justin Robinson was the recipient of the Glenn E. “Ted” Mann Award, given to the reserve who most contributed to team morale throughout the season. Robinson and Jones, along with seniors Javin DeLaurier and Jack White, earned the Bill Krzyzewski Captains’ Award, bestowed upon the team captains. White also claimed the Dr. Deryl Hart Award as the team’s top scholar-athlete for the second straight year.

Junior Jordan Goldwire was presented the Pagliuca Family Coach’s Award, given to the player that best exemplified the commitment and values of Duke Basketball.

Goldwire and Jones shared the team’s Defensive Player of the Year honor, while Jones was also presented the award for having the team’s most assists (185). Freshman Wendell Moore Jr., earned the team’s best free throw percentage plaque (.806).

Receiving the Gopal Varadhan Senior Manager Award were Ronald DombroskiNeb TibebuMichael Scheinert and Jack TauberGrace Gutierrez was the recipient of the Harry Rainey Spirit Award, while Sam Lester was named the recipient of the Charles Hogan Memorial Band Award.

2019-20 Duke Men’s Basketball Award Winners

Swett-Baylin Award (Most Valuable Player): Vernon Carey Jr., Tre Jones

Dr. Deryl Hart Award (Top Scholar-Athlete): Jack White

Pagliuca Family Coach’s Award (Commitment and Values): Jordan Goldwire

Glenn E. “Ted” Mann Award (Contribution to Team Morale): Justin Robinson

Iron Duke Award (Most Minutes Played): Tre Jones

Bill Krzyzewski Captains’ Award: Javin DeLaurier, Tre Jones, Justin Robinson, Jack White

Best Field Goal Percentage: Vernon Carey Jr.

Best Free Throw Percentage: Wendell Moore Jr.

Best Rebound Average: Vernon Carey Jr.

Most Assists Award: Tre Jones

Best Defensive Player: Jordan Goldwire, Tre Jones

Gopal Varadhan Senior Manager Award: Ronald Dombroski, Neb Tibebu, Michael Scheinert and Jack Tauber

Harry Rainey Spirit Award: Grace Gutierrez

Charles Hogan Memorial Band Award: Sam Lester

%d bloggers like this: