Skip to main content

DURHAM, N.C. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 20 watch list candidates for the 2019 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award. Among the 20 candidates was Duke freshman Cam Reddish, who was the No. 3 overall recruit for the Blue Devils’ top-ranked incoming freshman class.

Named after Class of 1983 Hall of Famer and 16-year professional basketball player Julius Erving, the annual honor in its fifth year recognizes the top small forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprising top college basketball personnel determines the watch list of 20 candidates.

Reddish, one of six freshmen named to the list, averaged 26.6 points and 5.6 rebounds at Westtown as a senior in high school on his way to being named Mr. Pennsylvania Basketball. The Norristown, Pa., native was named to the Class 3A Pennsylvania First-Team All-State, and helped lead Westtown to the 2017 Friends’ School League Championship. He was ranked as the No. 3 overall prospect in the 2018-19 incoming class by ESPN and was a McDonald’s All-American.

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2019 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. West and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2019 Julius Erving Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, Calif., on Friday, April 12, 2019, along with the other four members of the Naismith Starting 5. Additional awards being presented and sponsored by Eaton Ephesus Lighting include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

For more information on the 2019 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award and the latest updates, long onto and follow @hoophall and #ErvingAward on Twitter and Instagram.

2019 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award Candidates

Dylan Windler – Belmont

Cam Reddish – Duke

Elijah Minnie – Eastern Michigan

Rui Hachimura – Gonzaga

Keldon Johnson – Kentucky

Sam Hauser – Marquette

Aaron Wiggins – Maryland

Caleb Martin – Nevada

Nassir Little – North Carolina

Louis King – Oregon

Tres Tinkle – Oregon St.

Lamar Stevens – Penn St.

O’Shea Brissett – Syracuse

Admiral Schofield – Tennessee

Jordon Varnado – Troy

Kris Wilkes – UCLA

De’Andre Huner – Virginia

Jaylen Hoard – Wake Forest

Mattise Thybulle – Washington

Robert Franks Jr. – Washington St.

%d bloggers like this: