Skip to main content

Duke head coach Jon Scheyer has been named one of 10 finalists for the Joe B. Hall National Coach of the Year Award presented annually to the top first-time head coach in Division I basketball.

In his debut season on the Blue Devils’ bench, Scheyer has led Duke to 23 wins – a program record for a first-year coach – and became the first first-year coach in ACC history to lead a team to an undefeated home season.

The Blue Devils (23-8) are the No. 4-seed in the ACC Tournament thanks to their 14-6 (.700) conference mark as Scheyer became just the fifth first-year coach in ACC history to be .700 or better in league play and just the 19th all-time to be .500 or better.

Under Scheyer, Duke overcame a regular season disrupted by injuries to find its groove over the final month heading into the postseason. The Blue Devils carry a season-long six-game winning streak into the ACC Tournament quarterfinals in Greensboro on Thursday. It is just the eighth such win streak of six games or longer to end a regular season in Duke’s ACC era (since 1953-54).

For Scheyer’s first season, Duke returned just one significant rotation player – starting guard Jeremy Roach – from a 2021-22 season that saw Duke capture the ACC regular-season title and reach the Final Four. In 2022-23, Duke claimed its ACC-leading 15th top-five league finish in the last 16 years and 37th in the last 40.

Duke went 16-0 at home, was 7-2 overall in games decided by five points or fewer and 6-1 in games decided by four or fewer.

A longtime Kentucky assistant, Joe B. Hall was given the task of following the legendary Adolph Rupp at the school. In his first season, Hall finished 20-8, won the SEC and advanced to the NCAA Regional Finals. Hall coached the Wildcats from 1972 to 1985, received four SEC Coach of the Year honors and won a National Championship in 1978.

The recipient of the 2023 award will be announced in March, in Houston – site of the men’s NCAA Basketball Championship. Former Blue Devil Greg Paulus won the award in 2020 in his first season at Niagara.

2022-23 Joe B. Hall Award Finalists
Tobin Anderson – Fairleigh Dickinson
Chris Caputo – George Washington
Eric Duft – Weber State
Corey Gipson – Northwestern State
Michael Lewis – Ball State
Chris Markwood — Maine
Daniyal Robinson – Cleveland State
Jon Scheyer – Duke
Jerome Tang – Kansas State
Keith Urgo – Fordham