Skip to main content

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame today named Duke freshman Paolo Banchero as one of 10 watch list members for the 2022 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award.

Named after Class of 2010 Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone, the annual honor in its eighth year recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates in November, which has now been narrowed to 10.

A six-time ACC Freshman of the Week, Banchero currently leads all true freshman nationally in scoring (17.8) while ranking third in rebounding (8.3) and third in field goal percentage (.496). Over his last five outings, he is averaging a double-double at 17.2 points and 11.2 rebounds per game with 3.6 assists. The Wooden Award candidate has reached double figures in every game, including 20-point performances in marquee contests against then-No. 10 Kentucky on Nov. 9 and then-No. 1 Gonzaga on Nov. 26. Banchero’s 19.1 points per game in ACC play lead the league.

The Seattle, Wash., native is seeking to become the second Blue Devil to win the award, as Zion Williamson claimed the honor in 2019.

College basketball fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. In late February, the watch list of 10 players for the 2022 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award will be narrowed to five. In March those finalists will be presented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the award will be announced on a to-be-determined date, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five.

For more information on the 2022 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #MaloneAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, February 4.