Skip to main content

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame has announced Duke freshman Tyrese Proctor as one of 20 players named to the watch list for the 2023 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award.

A guard from Sydney, Australia, Proctor originally committed to Duke as a member of the 2023 recruiting class. He announced his decision to reclassify in June 2022 and arrived in Durham in September 2022. Proctor was a five-star recruit in the 2023 class, ranked 17th overall. He attended the NBA Global Academy branch in Canberra, Australia and averaged 13.8 points and 4.4 assists while competing as one of the youngest players in the 2021 Australian Under-20 Championships, and helped lead the New South Wales Metro Under-18 team to a fourth-place finish at the 2018 U-18 Championships, where he averaged 18.6 points and 3.1 assists. Proctor also participated in the 2022 Nike Hoop Summit this past April as a member of the World Team, playing against fellow Duke signees Kyle FilipowskiDereck Lively II and Dariq Whitehead

Proctor aims to become the second Blue Devil freshman in five years to win the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award, after RJ Barrett was presented the honor in 2019.

Named after Class of 1980 Hall of Famer and 1959 NCAA Final Four Most Valuable Player Jerry West, the annual honor in its ninth year recognizes the top shooting guards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

College basketball fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2023 Jerry West Award will be narrowed to 10 and then in late February to just five. In March the five finalists will be presented to West and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee where a winner will be selected. The winner of the 2023 Jerry West Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five.

For more information on the 2023 Jerry West Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #WestAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, October 28.

2023 Jerry West Award Candidates
Nick Smith – Arkansas
Adam Flagler – Baylor
Charles Pride – Bryant
Tyrese Proctor – Duke
Malachi Smith – Gonzaga
Rasir Bolton – Gonzaga
Marcus Sasser – Houston
Terrence Shannon Jr. – Illinois
Kevin McCullar Jr. – Kansas
Antonio Reeves – Kentucky
Cason Wallace – Kentucky
Taevion Kinsey – Marshall
Isaiah Wong – Miami (Fl.)
Isiaih Mosley – Missouri
Terquavion Smith – NC State
Dane Goodwin – Notre Dame
Matt Bradley – San Diego State
Joseph Girard III – Syracuse
Santiago Vescovi – Tennessee
Amari Bailey – UCLA