Skip to main content

The National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame announced Tuesday that former Duke men’s basketball coach Mike Krzyzewski and Blue Devil great Johnny Dawkins will be enshrined as members of the Class of 2023.

With the inclusion of Dawkins and Coach K, the Blue Devils now have 10 former players, head coaches or assistant coaches in the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame. The Class of 2023 Induction Celebration – honoring the Hall of Fame’s 18th induction class – will be held on the evening of Aug. 30 in Chicago.

Now in coaching retirement, Krzyzewski is set to be officially honored in the Class of 2023 after initially being among the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame’s Founding Class in 2006. The winningest coach in NCAA history, Krzyzewski engineered a four-decade run at Duke that was among the most dominant the game has ever seen. Krzyzewski won 1,202 total games – 73 in five seasons at Army followed by 1,129 across 42 years on the Duke sidelines – and earned 12 National Coach of the Year honors before his retirement in 2022. Krzyzewski’s Blue Devil teams captured five national championships, made 13 Final Four appearances, won 15 ACC Tournaments, and claimed 14 ACC regular season titles. He also re-established the United States’ perch atop international basketball, leading Team USA to Olympic gold medals in 2008, 2012 and 2016. Krzyzewski’s teams spent 127 weeks ranked No. 1 in the AP poll, and his 36 NCAA Tournament bids and 101 March Madness wins are both the most all-time.

Dawkins is one of the most decorated players in Duke history and is regarded as a key early figure in the program’s ascent to becoming a national power. From 1982-86, Dawkins piled up 2,556 points – a mark that stood as the school’s scoring record until 2006 and remains second all-time. He was a two-time consensus All-American, a four-time All-ACC selection, and was the recipient of the 1986 Naismith National Player of the Year award. As a senior, Dawkins led Duke to the ACC regular season and tournament titles, and an appearance in the NCAA national championship game. The 10th overall pick by the Spurs in the 1986 NBA Draft, Dawkins has gone on to coaching success at Stanford and his current post at UCF.

Details on attending the Induction Celebration will be announced soon. The National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame is an initiative of the NABC Foundation.

Duke Basketball National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame Inductees
Mike Krzyzewski – 2006 Founding Class
Chuck Daly^ – 2006 Founding Class
Dick Groat – 2007
Charles “Lefty” Driesell* – 2007
Vic Bubas – 2007
Christian Laettner – 2010
Grant Hill – 2014
Jason Williams – 2017
Shane Battier – 2019
Johnny Dawkins – 2023

^ former Duke assistant coach, but enshrined based on his NBA coaching merit
* lettered at Duke in 1953-54, but enshrined based on coaching merit