Skip to main content
General InformationNews

Jayson Tatum Named a Julius Erving Award Candidate

By October 19, 2016No Comments

Per Duke Sports Information

October 19, 2016

Jayson TatumSPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Duke freshman Jayson Tatum was named one of 20 candidates for the 2017 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award on Wednesday in announcement by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

The award is in its third year recognizing the top player in Division I men’s college basketball at the position played by Erving, a member of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. Tatum is the lone freshman on this year’s watch list.

Tatum was named both Gatorade Male Athlete of the Year and Gatorade Boys Basketball National Player of the Year in 2016 after averaging 29.5 points and 9.1 rebounds to lead Chaminade Prep to the Missouri Class 5A state title. He was a first-team USA Today All-USA and Naismith Trophy All-America selection in 2016, as well as a McDonald’s All-American and a Jordan Brand Classic participant.

The St. Louis native owns three gold medals as a member of the USA Basketball program: the 2015 FIBA U19 World Championship, the 2014 FIBA U17 World Championship and the 2013 FIBA Americas U16 Championship. In 19 games for his country, Tatum has posted averages of 11.9 points and 4.1 rebounds.

The Erving Award committee will narrow its watch list to 10 players by mid-February and a list of five finalists will be announced in March. The winner of the 2017 Julius Erving Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show in Los Angeles on April 7.

For more information on the Julius Erving Award, visit

2017 Julius Erving Award Candidates

Evan Bradds, Belmont
Kelan Martin, Butler
Jarron Blossomgame, Clemson
Terry Larrier, Connecticut
Jayson Tatum, Duke
Dwayne Bacon, Florida State
OG Anunoby, Indiana
Deng Adel, Louisville
Justin Jackson, North Carolina
VJ Beachem, Notre Dame
Jae’Sean Tate, Ohio State
Dillon Brooks, Oregon
Tres Tinkle, Oregon State
Vince Edwards, Purdue
Dikembe Dixson, Illinois-Chicago
Kevin Hervey, UT Arlington
Jalen Moore, Utah State
Josh Hart, Villanova
Markis McDuffie, Wichita State
Trevon Bluiett, Xavier

%d bloggers like this: